Europe/Asia USA
Bachem AG Bachem Americas, Inc.
Hauptstrasse 144 3132 Kashiwa Street
4416 Bubendorf - Switzerland Torrance, CA 90505 - USA
Tel +41 61 935 2323 Tel +1 888 422 2436
Fax +41 61 935 2325 +1 888 4BACHEM
E-mail sales.ch@bachem.com +1 310 539 4171
  Fax +1 310 539 9428
  E-mail sales.us@bachem.com

CORPORATE GOVERNANCE

Ehrenpräsident

 

Peter Grogg (1942) Dr. h.c., Ehrenpräsident, Schweizer
Peter GroggSeit 1971
Ehrenpräsident
 Peter Grogg gründete 1971 die Bachem AG, war bis 2002 als deren CEO und bis 2012 als Verwaltungspräsident der Bachem Holding AG tätig. Er ist Verwaltungsratspräsident der Ingro Finanz AG. Bei der Polyphor AG und der Sunstar Holding AG ist er Mitglied des Verwaltungsrats.

 
 

Verwaltungsrat

 

Kuno Sommer (1956) 1, Dr. rer. pol., Präsident, Schweizer
Kuno Sommer seit 2012, gewählt bis 2017
Verwaltungsrats-
PräsidentDr. Kuno Sommer war von 1986 bis 1999 bei Roche in verschiedenen Funktionen tätig, davon vier Jahre in den USA. In seiner letzten Funktion bei Roche war er als Mitglied der Konzernleitung zuständig für den Bereich Aromen und Riechstoffe, heute Givaudan. 2000 bis 2006 war er CEO der Berna Biotech. Kuno Sommer ist Verwaltungsratspräsident der Kenta Biotech AG und Mitglied des Verwaltungsrats der Polyphor AG.

 

 

Nicole-Grogg-HoetzerNicole Grogg Hötzer (1973), Diplom Biologin, Vizepräsidentin, Schweizerin
Nicole Grogg HötzerSeit 2011, gewählt bis 2017
Mitglied

Nicole Grogg Hötzer schloss ihr Studium in Biologie an der Universität Basel 1999 mit dem Diplom ab. Nach ihrem Studium hatte Nicole Grogg Hötzer verschiedene Stellen im Bereich Regulatory Affairs inne. Im Jahr 2002 begann Nicole Grogg Hötzer ein Nachdiplomstudium in Betriebswirtschaft an der Fachhochschule beider Basel, das sie im September 2004 erfolgreich abschloss. Nicole Grogg Hötzer ist Vizepräsidentin des Verwaltungsrats der Ingro Finanz AG und Mitglied des Verwaltungsrats der MFC Beteiligungs AG.
Jürgen Brokatzky-Geiger (1952) 1, Dr. chem., Mitglied, Deutscher
Jürgen Brokatzky-Seit 2009, gewählt bis 2017
Geiger
MitgliedDr. Jürgen Brokatzky-Geiger hat Chemie studiert und promovierte 1982 an der Universität Freiburg, Deutschland. Er stiess 1983 als Laborleiter zur Pharma-Division der Ciba-Geigy AG, Basel. Nach einem Auslandsaufenthalt in den USA übernahm er eine Reihe von Positionen mit wachsender Verantwortung im Bereich Forschung und Entwicklung (R&D), unter anderem Group Leader of Process R&D, Head of Process R&D und Head of Process Development and Pilot Plant Operations bei Ciba-Geigy AG. Während der Fusion der Sandoz AG und der Ciba-Geigy AG 1996 wurde Dr. Jürgen Brokatzky-Geiger zum Integration Officer of Technical Operations ernannt. Später wurde er Head of Chemical and Analytical Development und arbeitete von 1999 bis August 2003 als Global Head of Technical R&D. Seine gegenwärtige Position als Head of Human Resources bei Novartis International AG übernahm Dr. Jürgen Brokatzky-Geiger am 1. September 2003. Seit dem 1. Januar 2005 ist Dr. Jürgen Brokatzky-Geiger Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung von Novartis.

 
 

Thomas Burckhardt (1950) Dr. iur., LL.M., Sekretär, Schweizer
Thomas BurckhardtSeit 1997, gewählt bis 2017
Mitglied, Sekretär
Thomas Burckhardt hat an den Universitäten in Basel, Genf und München studiert und im Jahre 1978 in Basel doktoriert. Im Jahre 1975 erlangte er das Anwaltspatent, und 1979 erwarb er an der Harvard Law School (Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA) den Grad eines Master of Law (LLM). Seit 1980 ist er als Rechtsanwalt in Zürich und Basel tätig und seit 1987 Partner bei Simonius Pfrommer & Partner. Thomas Burckhardt ist ausserdem Honorargeneralkonsul des Königreichs Thailand in Basel. Wesentliche Verwaltungsratsmandate: Viking River Cruises AG, MFC Beteiligungs AG und Stiftung FOCUS Basel.

 
  

Helma Wennemers (1969) Prof. Dr., Mitglied, Deutsche
Helma WennemersSeit 2014, gewählt bis 2017
Mitglied
Helma Wennemers ist deutsche Staatsbürgerin und seit 2011 Professorin für Organische Chemie am Laboratorium für Organische Chemie der ETH Zürich. Sie wurde 1969 in Offenbach am Main geboren und schloss 1993 ihr Studium in Chemie an der Johann-Wolfgang-Goethe Universität in Frankfurt ab. Drei Jahre später promovierte sie an der Columbia University, New York. Nach einem Postdoktoral an der Nagoya Universität wurde sie 1999 auf die "Bachem-Stiftungs-Assistenzprofessur" an die Universität Basel berufen, wo sie 2003 zur ausserordentlichen Professorin ernannt wurde. Ihre Forschung wurde unter anderem ausgezeichnet mit dem "Leonidas Zervas Award" (2010), der "Goering Gastprofessur der University of Wisconsin, Madison" (2004), zahlreichen Ehrenvorlesung wie der "David Ginsburg Lecture" des Technion in Haifa (2010) und der Ernennung zum "Fellow der Royal Society of Chemistry" (2013).

 
 

Rolf Nyfeler (1950) 1, Dr. phil. II, Mitglied, Schweizer
Rolf NyfelerSeit 2012, gewählt bis 2017
Mitglied
Rolf Nyfeler hat an der Universität Basel Chemie studiert und dort 1979 auch doktoriert. Anschliessend vertiefte er sein Wissen mit Post-Doc-Aufenthalten am Max-Planck-Institut in Martinsried und an der University of California in San Diego. Rolf Nyfeler trat 1982 in die Bachem AG ein. Er leitete über mehrere Jahre den Bereich Forschung und Entwicklung und übernahm 1998, nach einem USA-Engagement als Produktionsleiter bei der kalifornischen Tochtergesellschaft, die Leitung des Stammhauses. Von 2002 bis 2012 war er CEO der Bachem Gruppe sowie Vorsitzender der Konzernleitung.

1 Mitglied des Compensation Committee

 



Konzernleitung

 

Thomas FrühThomas Früh (1957) Dr. chem. ETH, CEO, Schweizer
Thomas Früh Seit 2012
CEO
Trat 1997 als COO der Niederlassung in Pennsylvania in die Bachem Gruppe ein. 2001 wechselte er als COO zur Bachem AG. Seit 1. April 2012 ist er CEO der Bachem Holding AG und Vorsitzender der Konzernleitung. Seine Ausbildung als Chemiker absolvierte er an der Eidgenössischen Technischen Hochschule Zürich (ETH) und war dann als Postdoc an der Harvard University in Cambridge tätig. Vor seiner Tätigkeit bei Bachem bekleidete er verschiedene Positionen in Forschung und Entwicklung bei Ciba-Geigy und Novartis. Thomas Früh ist Verwaltungsrat der Dottikon ES Holding AG.

 

 

José de Chastonay (1954) Dr. Phil. Nat. & MBA, CMO, Schweizer/US-Bürger
José de ChastonaySeit 2012
CMO
José de Chastonay trat 1991 als Internationaler Marketing Manager in die Bachem AG ein. Im Jahr 1992 übersiedelte er in die USA, zunächst als Präsident und COO von Bachem Bioscience, Inc. später auch von Bachem, Inc. und war letztlich Präsident von Bachem Americas. Im Jahr 2007 verliess er Bachem, um CEO von Irvine Scientific Inc. und schliesslich Managing Director von Wombat Capital Ltd. in Los Angeles zu werden, bevor er im Jahr 2012 zurück zu Bachem als Chief Marketing Officer kam. José de Chastonay begann seine industrielle Karriere mit Ares-Serono als Vizedirektor der Biotechnologie und trat dann bei Roche Diagnostica als internationaler Produktelinien- Manager bei. Er war im Verwaltungsrat der Viroblock SA und gehört zum Strategischen Advisory Board der Rapid Pharmaceuticals. Zurzeit ist er auch im Stiftungsrat der European University Foundation als Treasurer tätig. José de Chastonay studierte an der Universität Bern und hat ein Ph.D. in Medizinischer Mikrobiologie. Er ergänzte sein Fachwissen mit einem MBA an der European University in Montreux.

 

Alex Fässler (1955) Dr. Sc. Nat., COO, Schweizer/US-Bürger
Alex FässlerSeit 2017
COO
Alex Fässler trat im Jahr 1998 in die Bachem AG ein, bevor er in die USA übersiedelte, zunächst als Produktionsleiter, dann als Standortleiter und schliesslich als Regionaler COO der Region Amerika. In 2013 kehrte er zurück in die Schweiz als COO der Region Europa. Seit 1. April 2017 ist er COO der Bachem-Gruppe und Mitglied der Konzernleitung. Alex Fässler begann seine industrielle Karriere bei Ciba-Geigy, später Novartis, wo er verschiedene Positionen in der präklinischen Forschung innehatte. Er promovierte an der ETH Zürich in organischer Chemie, gefolgt von einem Postdoktorat an der University of California, Berkeley.

 

Günther Loidl
CTO
Günther Loidl (1970) Dr. rer. nat., CTO, Deutscher
Seit 2015
Günther Loidl trat im Jahr 2000 in die Bachem AG ein. Nach verschiedenen Funktionen in Forschung und Entwicklung (F&E) und der Wirkstoffproduktion übernahm er 2012 die Leitung des Bereichs F&E. Seit 2015 ist er CTO der Bachem Holding AG und Mitglied der Konzernleitung. Er studierte Chemie in Regensburg (Deutschland) und Leeds (England) und promovierte unter der Anleitung von Prof. Dr. Luis Moroder am Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie in Martinsried (Deutschland).

 
 

Stephan Schindler (1964) Betriebsökonom HWV, EMBA, CFO, Schweizer
Stephan SchindlerSeit 2009
CFO
Trat 2009 als Chief Financial Officer (CFO) der Bachem Holding AG und Mitglied der Konzernleitung ein. Begann als Informatiker bei der Patria Versicherungen in Basel, ab 1991 als Leiter Information Center mit ersten Führungsaufgaben. Seine Ausbildung ergänzte er mit einem berufsbegleitenden Studium zum Betriebsökonom HWV, Abschluss Finanzen/Controlling. Er wechselte 1995 zur F. Hoffmann-La Roche AG in Basel, wo er verschiedene Linien- und Projektfunktionen im Corporate Finance innehatte, u.a. Leiter Credit Management. Mit Ausgliederung der Vitamin- sparte übernahm er 2001 das Finanz- und Rechnungswesen der Roche Vitamins AG, ab 2003 als Head Finance & Control Switzerland der DSM Nutritional Products AG in Kaiseraugst. Stephan Schindler hat zusätzlich einen Abschluss als International Executive MBA Zürich/Boston.

Europe/Asia USA
Bachem AG Bachem Americas, Inc.
Hauptstrasse 144 3132 Kashiwa Street
4416 Bubendorf - Switzerland Torrance, CA 90505 - USA
Tel +41 61 935 2323 Tel +1 888 422 2436
Fax +41 61 935 2325 +1 888 4BACHEM
E-mail sales.ch@bachem.com +1 310 539 4171
  Fax +1 310 539 9428
  E-mail sales.us@bachem.com

CORPORATE GOVERNANCE

Honorary Chairman

 

Peter Grogg (1942) Dr. h.c., Honorary Chairman, Swiss
Peter Groggsince 1971
Honorary Chairman
Peter Grogg founded Bachem AG in 1971 and was the CEO until 2002 and Chairman of the Board of Bachem Holding AG until 2012. He is Chairman of the Board of Ingro Finanz AG. He is a member of the Board of Directors of Polyphor AG, and Sunstar Holding AG.

 
 

Board of Directors

 

Kuno Sommer (1956) 1, Ph.D. in Business Administration, Chairman, Swiss
Kuno Sommer since 2012, elected until 2017
Chairman
Dr. Kuno Sommer, Ph.D. University of Basel, worked for Roche from 1986 to 1999 in various functions, including four years  in the USA. Kuno Sommer was ultimately a member of the Executive Committee of Roche, responsible for the Flavours and Fragrances division, today Givaudan. From 2000 to 2006 he was CEO of Berna Biotech. Kuno Sommer is Chairman of the Board of Kenta Biotech AG and member of the Board of Polyphor AG.
Nicole-Grogg-HoetzerNicole Grogg Hötzer (1973), Graduate Biologist, Vice-Chairwoman, Swiss
Nicole Grogg Hötzersince 2011, elected until 2017
Member
Nicole Grogg Hötzer graduated in Biology at Basel University in 1999. Afterwards, she worked in various positions in the field of regulatory affairs. In 2002 Nicole Grogg Hötzer began her postgraduate studies in Business Administration at the University of Applied Sciences Basel which she completed successfully in 2004. Nicole Grogg Hötzer is Vice Chairwoman of the Board of Directors of Ingro Finanz AG and member of the Board of Directors of MFC Beteiligungs AG.
Jürgen Brokatzky-Geiger (1952) 1, Ph.D. in chemistry, Member, German
Jürgen Brokatzky-since 2009, elected until 2017
Geiger
MemberDr. Jürgen Brokatzky-Geiger graduated with a Ph.D. in chemistry from the University of Freiburg, Germany, in 1982. He joined Ciba-Geigy Ltd. in 1983 as a Laboratory Head in the Pharmaceuticals Division. After a job rotation in the United States, he held positions of increasing responsibility in Research and Development (R&D) including Group Leader of Process R&D, Head of Process R&D, and Head of Process Development and Pilot Plant Operations. During the merger of Ciba-Geigy and Sandoz in 1996, Dr. Jürgen Brokatzky-Geiger was appointed Integration Officer of Technical Operations. He later became the Head of Chemical and Analytical Development and served as the Global Head of Technical R&D from 1999 to August 2003. Dr. Jürgen Brokatzky-Geiger was appointed to his present position as Head of Human Resources on September 1, 2003. He has been a member of the Executive Committee of Novartis since January 1, 2005.
Thomas Burckhardt (1950) Dr. iur., LL.M., Member, Secretary of the Board, Swiss
Thomas Burckhardtsince 1997, elected until 2017
Member, Secretary of the Board
Thomas Burckhardt studied at the universities of Basel, Geneva and Munich and was awarded his doctorate in 1978 in Basel. Since 1975, he is licensed attorney and in 1979, he received a Master of Law (LL.M.) at Harvard Law School (Cambridge, Massachusetts, US). Since 1980, he is practicing as lawyer in Zurich and Basel and since 1987, he is an associate at Simonius Pfrommer & Partner. Thomas Burckhardt further is Honorary Consul-General of the Kingdom of Thailand in Basel. Other important Board memberships: Viking River Cruises AG, MFC Beteiligungs AG and Stiftung FOCUS Basel.
Helma Wennemers (1969) Prof. Dr., Member, German
Helma Wennemerssince 2014, elected until 2017
Member
Helma Wennemers is a German national and has been Professor at the Laboratory of Organic Chemistry at ETH Zurich since 2011. She was born in Offenbach am Main in 1969 and graduated with a diploma degree in chemistry from Johann-Wolfgang-Goethe University in Frankfurt in 1993. Three years later she earned a doctorate degree from Columbia University, New York. She then pursued post-doctoral studies at Nagoya University before accepting the "Bachem-Stiftungs-Assistenzprofessur" at the University of Basel in 1999, where she became Associate Professor in 2003. Helma Wennemers research has been recognized by several awards including the "Leonidas Zervas Award" (2010) and the "Goering Visiting Professorship of the University of Wisconsin, Madison" (2004). She has also been awarded with numerous honorary lectureships such as the "David Ginsburg Lectureship" at the Technion in Haifa (2010) and was named a "Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry" (2013).
Rolf Nyfeler (1950) 1, Dr. phil. II, Member, Swiss
Rolf Nyfelersince 2012, elected until 2017
Member
Rolf Nyfeler studied chemistry at Basel University and was awarded his doctorate in 1979. Afterwards he deepened his knowledge with postdoc stays at the Max-Planck-Institute in Martinsried and at the University of California in San Diego. Rolf Nyfeler joined Bachem in 1982. For many years he was responsible for Research and Development in Bubendorf. Then, after spending some time as Head of Production in the subsidiary in California, he became COO of the Parent company in 1998. From 2002 to 2012, he was CEO of the Bachem Group and Chairman of the Corporate Executive Committee.
1 Member of the Compensation Committee



Corporate Executive Committee

 

Thomas FrühThomas Früh (1957) Dr. chem. ETH, CEO, Swiss
Thomas Früh since 2012
CEO
Thomas Früh joined Bachem in 1997. He was first COO of the Bachem Group Company in Pennsylvania and became COO of Bachem AG in 2001. Since April 1, 2012 he is CEO of Bachem Holding AG and Chairman of the Corporate Executive Committee. He completed his education as a chemist at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zürich (ETH) and then was research fellow at Harvard University in Cambridge. Before he joined Bachem, he held various research and development positions at Ciba-Geigy and Novartis. Thomas Früh is member of the Board of Directors of Dottikon ES Holding AG.

José de ChastonayJosé de Chastonay (1954) Dr. Phil. Nat. & MBA, CMO, Swiss/American
José de Chastonaysince 2012
CMO
José de Chastonay joined Bachem AG in 1991 as International Marketing Manager. As of 1992, he relocated to the USA, first as President and COO of Bachem Bioscience, Inc. and subsequently of Bachem, Inc. and ultimately as President of Bachem Americas. In 2007, he left Bachem to become CEO of Irvine Scientific Inc. and Managing Director of Wombat Capital Ltd. in Los Angeles, before rejoining Bachem as Chief Marketing Officer in 2012. José de Chastonay started his industrial career with Ares Serono as Assistant Director of Biotechnology and joined Roche Diagnostica as International Product Lines Manager several years later. He served on the Board of Directors of Viroblock SA as well as on the Strategic Advisory Board of Rapid Pharmaceuticals and serves as Treasurer of the European University Foundation. José de Chastonay earned his Ph.D. in medical microbiology from the University of Bern and his MBA from the European University in Montreux.

Alex Fässler (1955) Dr. Sc. Nat., COO, Swiss/American
Alex Fässlersince 2017
COO
Alex Fässler joined Bachem AG in 1998, before he relocated to the USA, where he served as Head of Production, Site Manager, and ultimately as the Regional COO for the Americas. In 2013 he returned to Switzerland to become COO of the European Operations. He was appointed COO of the Bachem Group and member of the Corporate Executive Committee effective April 1. 2017. Alex Fässler started his industrial career at Ciba-Geigy, later Novartis, where he held various positions in preclinical Research. He completed his education at the Swiss Institute of Technology in Zurich (ETH) with a Ph.D. in organic chemistry, followed by a fellowship at the University of California, Berkeley.

 

Guenther LoidlGuenther Loidl (1970) Dr. rer. nat., CTO, German
CTOsince 2015
Guenther Loidl joined Bachem in 2000. He held several functions in Research and Development (R&D) and Active Pharmaceutical Ingredient Manufacturing and became Vice President R&D in 2012. Since 2015, he is CTO of the Bachem Group and a member of the Corporate Executive Committee. He studied chemistry in Regensburg (Germany) and Leeds (UK) and obtained his doctorate under the supervision of Prof. Dr. Luis Moroder at the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry in Martinsried (Germany).

 
 

Stephan Schindler (1964) business economist HWV, EMBA, CFO, Swiss
Stephan Schindlersince 2009
CFO
Stephan Schindler joined Bachem Holding AG as Chief Financial Officer (CFO) and Member of the Corporate Executive Committee in 2009. In 1991, he assumed a first management position in informatics as Head of Information Center at Patria Insurances in Basel. In parallel, he persistently pursued his extra occupational studies in business economics, finance and control. After his graduation, he joined the Corporate Finance Department at F. Hoffmann- La Roche Ltd in Basel. 1995 to 2001, he assumed various positions, e.g. Head of Credit Management. With the unbundling of the division in 2001, he took over the accounting & reporting department at Roche Vitamins Ltd. Until 2009, he was Head Finance & Control Switzerland at DSM Nutritional Products Ltd, Kaiseraugst. In addition, Stephan Schindler holds a degree of International Executive MBA Zurich/Boston.