Board of

The Board of Directors is responsible for defining Bachem’s corporate strategy and the members are elected by the company shareholders at the Annual General Meeting.

Peter Grogg

Honorary Chairman

Dr. Peter Grogg founded Bachem AG in 1971, was the CEO until 2002 and Chairman of the Board of Bachem Holding AG until 2012. He was awarded an honorary doctorate by the University of Basel for his achievements and merits in the field of peptides.

Kuno Sommer


Dr. Kuno Sommer, Ph.D. University of Basel, worked for Roche from 1986 to 1999 in various functions, including four years in the USA. Kuno Sommer was ultimately a member of the Executive Committee of Roche, responsible for the Flavours and Fragrances division, today Givaudan. From 2000 to 2006 he was CEO of Berna Biotech. Kuno Sommer is Chairman of the Board of Sunstar-Holding AG, of Kenta Biotech AG, of TargImmune Therapeutics AG and, until Septem-
ber 1, 2023, of Infors AG as well as member of the Board of Directors of Spexis AG..

Nicole Grogg Hötzer


Nicole Grogg Hötzer graduated in Biology at Basel University in 1999. Afterwards, she worked in various positions in the field of regulatory affairs. In 2002 Nicole Grogg Hötzer began her postgraduate studies in Business Administration at the University of Applied Sciences Basel which she completed successfully in 2004. Nicole Grogg Hötzer is Chairwoman of the Board of Directors of MFC Beteiligungs AG as well as Vice-Chairwoman of the Board of Directors of Ingro Finanz AG, of Hotel Bad Schauenburg AG and of Sunstar-Holding AG.

Helma Wennemers


Prof. Dr. Helma Wennemers graduated with a diploma degree in chemistry from Johann-Wolfgang-Goethe University in Frankfurt in 1993. Three years later she earned a doctorate degree from Columbia University, New York. She then pursued post-doctoral studies at Nagoya University before accepting the “Bachem-Stiftungs-Assistenzprofessur” at the University of Basel in 1999, where she became Associate Professor in 2003. Since 2011, she is Professor at the Laboratory of Organic Chemistry at ETH Zürich. Helma Wennemers’ research has been recognized by several awards, including the Leonidas Zervas Award from the European Peptide Society (2010), the Pedler Award from the Royal Society of Chemistry (2016), the Inhoffen Medal from the Helmholtz Center (2017), the Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award from the American Chemical Society (2021), the Scoffone Prize from the Italian Peptide Society (2022) and the “Vincent du Vigneaud Award” from the American Peptide Society (2023).

Steffen Lang


Dr. Steffen Lang has been President  of Novartis Operations since 2022. He is a member of the Executive Committee of Novartis. Prior to his current appointment, Steffen Lang served as Global Head Novartis Technical Operations from 2017 to 2022. He joined Novartis in 1994 as Head of Laboratory in Research, and over the years has held various positions within Pharmaceuticals Development and Technical Operations. Mr. Lang holds a doctorate in pharmaceutical technology from the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETHZ), and a degree in pharmaceutical sciences from the University of Heidelberg in Germany.

Alex Fässler


Dr. Alex Fässler began his industrial career at Ciba-Geigy, later Novartis, where he held various positions in preclinical Research in Basel, New Jersey and England. He joined Bachem AG in 1998, and thereafter served as Head of Production in the US subsidiary, site manager and finally as regional COO for the Americas. After his return to Switzerland in 2013 he was appointed COO of Bachem Europe, and from 2017 to 2018 he held the function of COO of the Bachem Group, and was a member of the Corporate Executive Committee.

Corporate Executive Committee

Responsible for managing Bachem and for implementing policies and strategies as defined by the Board of Directors.

Click here >>

Leadership Team

Our passionate and dedicated employees, along with our unique corporate culture are the foundation of our success.

Click here >>